Wexford CBS First Year Football Blitz final

Wexford (UCD)…………………………….4-5

Kerry (UCC)………………………………….2-2 

WEXFORD came out on tops in the 2011 First Year Football blitz final after this thrilling final played on the school pitch on Thursday September 22nd.

After battling their way to the final following wins against Dublin (TCD) and Kildare (UCG) in the group stages, these sides clashed in a very entertaining game.

Wexford, managed by Wexford senior footballer Mr. Molloy, went in at half-time leading by 2-1 to 1-2 following great scores from Lee Busher and Jack Haughton. Cormac Byrne responded for Kerry to keep them in the match and at only two points behind it was all to play for in the second half.

However Izaac Doyle grabbed a goal which was added to by Lee Busher and try as Kerry might they just couldn’t cut the gap despite a fine goal by Lee Whelan.

Principal Mr. McMahon presented Wexford captain Paul Bailie with the trophy and Lee Busher won the Man of the Match award. Well done to all involved.

Preparations are already underway for the South Leinster Juvenile Football championship and a lot of these players will no doubt feature on the team.

Kerry panel: Paul Bailie, Eoghan Mahon (0-1), Terry Whitty, Adam Kehoe, Michael Bent, Lee Busher (2-2), Jason Brennan, Rokas Baiki, Cody Murphy, Izaac Doyle (1-0), Jack Haughton (1-2), Paddy Byrne.

Wexford panel: Sean Grace, Cormac Byrne (1-1), Dylan Ennis, Alan Browne, Dylan O’Regan, Dion Murphy, Lee Whelan (1-1), Grahame Smyth, Alex Brady.

Ref: Mr. Hegarty.