Thirteen 1st year students qualified for the final of the inaugural first year spelling competition. This initiative is one of many underway in the school as part of our Literacy Plan to improve literacy standards in the school. The 1st year final was held on the 6th of February in the schools G.P. room. There was a “spell off” between the finalists in front of their peers. It was a very successful event. The competition was won by Martin Kehoe. Conn McIntyre was second and Shaun Hartigan was 3rd. The winners received a Kindle, with €30 and €20 euro book vouchers for 2nd and 3rd respectively.

Well done to all involved.