South Leinster Senior Hurling ‘C’ semi-final
Tuesday December 6 2016
Colaiste Bhride Carnew…………3-8
Wexford CBS…………….…………1-11

The seniors hurlers bowed out of the championship after a tough encounter with Colaiste Bhride (Carnew) in Carnew GAA Club. It was a very tight affair but a 53rd minute goal by the home side swung the game their way and they hung onto claim a place in the final.
CBS hurled into the wind in the first half and opened the scoring with two quick points from Jack O’Leary and Glen Murphy-Butler. At the other end, the Wexford CBS goal was leading a charmed life as the home team left 1-4 behind them with sloppy wides.
However they found their range and quickly had 1-2 on the board. However CBS plugged away and punished fouls by the Carnew defence with converted points from Glen Murphy Butler who was very accurate throughout.
Carnew got in for a second goal in somewhat controversial circumstances as the scorer caught the ball three times in possession but it was missed by the referee and the score stood.
The half-time score was 2-5 to 0-6 and a determined CBS outfit got the best possible start to the second half when Jack O’Leary flicked a Glen Murphy-Butler free to the net. Two more frees from Murphy-Butler and a fine score from Philip Rawson tied up the match at 2-6 to 1-9 after 50 minutes.
The deciding score was the Carnew third goal which was excellently finished to the corner of Adam Howlin’s net.
The remaining ten minutes or so resulted in 0-2 for each side and a late close in free from Glen Murphy-Butler after a foul on Shane Hall was saved and with that went any hope of forcing extra-time.
It was a brave effort from a gallant side. Some have played their last hurling game for the school before moving on but many remain for next year’s championship.

Wexford CBS: Adam Howlin; Josh McMahon, Shane Hall, Ben McMahon; Shane Doyle, Cormac Byrne (Capt.), Conor Graydon; Chris Cowman, Terry Whitty; Dion Murphy, Philip Rawson (0-1), Glen Murphy-Butler (0-9, 8f, 1 ’65); Jack Nolan, Jack O’Leary (1-1), Ben Hayes.
Sub: Lee Hore for Nolan.