South Leinster Senior Hurling final
Thursday January 25
Bridgetown VC……………………3-12
Wexford CBS……………………….4-7

The senior hurler’s quest to reclaim this title – last won in 2013/14 – ended in a narrow defeat to Bridgetown VC. CBS were never in front and always chased this game but could have snatched it at the death when Adam Howlin’s 30 yard free was saved and cleared.
In truth CBS squandered too many chances whereas Bridgetown were more clinical in front of goal. However, the Bokerboys never gave up and were very dogged and with a bit of luck they could have won the match.
It was 0-5 to 0-2 after ten minutes and moments later Kyle Scallan levelled the game with a cool finish but Bridgetown dominated the midpoint of the half and struck for two quick goals to fire them into a 2-8 to 1-4 half-time advantage.
Richie Lawlor and Kyle Scallan were CBS main men in that half but it was obvious they would need help on the turnaround.
In truth CBS dominated the second half and yet won it by only 3-3 to 1-4. Too many scores were left behind.
Josh Shiel replaced Michael Laffan at the break after his lengthy break due to injury and made an immediate impact. He pointed a free before lashing the ball to the rook of the net for the first of CBS’s second half goals.
Adam Howlin drove a penalty to the net but crucially Bridgetown struck for a goal at the other end which kept the Bokerboys at arm’s length.
Kyle Scallan got in for a 56th minute goal to put just one between the sides but Bridgetown stretched it out to two with a rare attack. Therefore Howlin had to go for goal with his last minute free and Bridgetown repelled the danger to claim a well-deserved victory.

Wexford CBS: Adam Howlin (1-0 pen); Adam Dempsey, Cathal Kirwan, Ben Hynes; Paul Leonard, Emmett Nolan, Conor Graydon; Aaron Clancy, Kyle Scallan (2-1, 0-1 free); Eoin Kavanagh, Michael Laffan, Richie Lawlor (0-2, 1 free); Lee Hore, Jack O’Leary (0-2 frees), Philip Rawson.
Subs: Josh Shiel (1-2, 0-1 free) for Laffan, Francis Dempsey for Hore, Ben McMahon for Rawson.
Ref: Sean Whelan.